Some notes on puppet 2.7.6, facter 1.6.2

November 1, 2011

Long time since last post, I know.. I know πŸ˜‰

Just a quick followup on the most recent (for the moment πŸ™‚ ) releases of puppet and facter.

I decided to give the new packages a try, and after some testing, decided that the packages were stable enough for a minor upgrade in my datacenter (running puppet 2.7.3 and facter 1.6.0, until today :)).

Well, sort of…

Facter is in fact (man… I’m redundant) a piece of cake: rebuilding rpms from scratch, for el4, el5, and el6 systems is a no-brainer (specfile is clean and “el-aware”). Also, prebuilt packages from yum.puppetlabs.com work just fine. Chap chap, I rhnpushed the packages to my satellite/spacewalk custom repos, released the errata, and … wait, I don’t even need to schedule the update, since puppet takes care (in my recipes) of facter updates on its own! Aaah the magic of puppet πŸ™‚

Puppet has a somewhat different story here. I wasn’t in the mood of rebuilding the packages from source, since the last time (2.7.3) I did it, there were some minor edits needed in the specfile (not quite up to date), so I decided to give the binaries from yum.puppetlabs.com a run. Mmmmh… result is not perfect:

  • puppetlabs rpms are built w/ SElinux bindings, which require additional packages/dependencies for the binaries to install (namely, ruby-SElinux bindings). Plus, it requires augeas, but I’m fine with this one. I know this is the most general-purpose configuration (w/ SElinux bindings available), but in my case it’s not a requirement, and adding the extra packages to my nodes means adding an additional repo/channel to the satellite/spacewalk infrastructure.
  • even after installing the “official” rpms, I noticed a couple of warnings when running the puppet agent (puppet agent –test):

/usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/1.8/puppet/type/file.rb:48: warning: parenthesize argument(s) for future version
/usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/1.8/puppet/provider/package/msi.rb:50: warning: parenthesize argument(s) for future version

Seriously, it’s only cosmetic stuff… but also a minor edit to the sources… So:

Time to rebuild!

Like with 2.7.3, rebuilding with the stock specfile provided in the 2.7.6 tarball simply doesn’t work… There has probably been a change in the paths of the current codebase. The build halts complaining about a missing mongrel.rb which is supposed to be found in “network/http.server/” path. Actually, the path is “network/http” nowadays, so I patched the specfile accordingly. Other than changing this and rebuilding with “–disable selinux (see above) the specfile was good enough for the package to build w/o warnings.

Regarding the runtime warnings mentioned above, the file.rb and msi.rb files only needed a () at the mentioned lines, that now look like this:

(line 48 of lib/puppet/type/file.rb): path, name = ::File.split(::File.expand_path(value))
(lineΒ  50 of lib/puppet/provider/package/msi.rb):Β  f.puts(YAML.dump(metadata))

Bang bang. Packages rebuilt, tested on lab node, pushed to satellite/spacewalk, and distributed to all the nodes. Aside from being up to date (yup) I can’t wait to play w/ puppet’s new features for windows nodes (2.7.6 adds some serious coolness).

Aside from this minor (really piece of cake) issues, another great release of puppet, one of the most clever piece of software I encountered in my sysadmin life (btw, big kudos to the guys at puppetlabs. You rule). πŸ™‚

2 Responses to “Some notes on puppet 2.7.6, facter 1.6.2”

  1. mongrel Says:

    in 2.7.7rc1 mongrel.rb again was placed to lib/network/http.server/

  2. drakpz Says:

    Thanx. Just rebuilt 2.7.9 (plus facter 1.6.4), All build just fine (still had to mantain the “–without selinux” on my env though.


Leave a Reply

